County Treasurer

Sharon May

Sharon May


Yadira Perez

Assistant Treasurer

401 3rd Street
Farwell, TX 79325


Duties of Office
The County Treasurer is the chief custodian of all county funds, and may also be designated as the county’s investment officer.  He/she receipts county monies from all sources and ensures that they are deposited in the appropriate county depository. The Treasurer also disburses county funds as directed by the Commissioners’ Court and approved by the County Auditor.

The Treasurer typically serves as chief liaison between the county and all depository banks. He/she maintains records of all deposits and withdrawals, and reconciles all bank statements.  Finally, the Treasurer regularly submits reports to the Commissioners’ Court and the general public regarding the county’s financial status.

The Treasurer has ultimate authority over the operations of that office, including the authority to hire and fire personnel and direct their daily activities. The Treasurer is also authorized to direct the use of all other resources allocated to that office in the county’s annual budget.